Responsive Web Development

As cool as they might be to play with, the number of new platforms are a big hurdle for web developing. The concept of using Responsive Web Development to adapt our page to different platforms might help solve this problem. It seems much more efficient to create a web site with the ability to change its format then to create seperate pages for each platform.

I found another article also titled Responsive Web Design . This is also an interesting article that goes along with the same concept. He goes along with the point that with the way Phones and Computer monitors are changing, it is impossible to be prepared for each combination and have a separate page for each. By making the computer “test” the device it is being viewed on and loaded the appropriate style sheet for it, the user is guarenteed to have an optimal experience.

Maybe my favorite thing about this concept, is the idea of a “Flexible Grid” layout for a website. This means that the actual layout of your website will change and adapt to better fit the user’s device. In an article called Understanding the Elements of Responsive Web Design, the author talks in length about the flexible grid. To me this seems to be the key to the idea of Responsive Web Design. By allowing our page to change and adapt we can now create a site without the fear of conflicts certain platforms.

This sounds like an awesome concept that I can not wait to start working with.

6 thoughts on “Responsive Web Development

  1. Simple and quickly summarized. I defiantly have to agree with you about the flexible grids. Hopefully with practice, web designers start applying this to there designs. Little changes like this really help us in the long run. I’m so exited to be learning this. Also, Good Job on your blog.

  2. Responsive web design does seem like it could be an exciting way to tackle the problem of an ever expanding array of platforms being used to access the web. It does seem quite impossible to have to create a site for every individual platform that comes out, so Responsive web design seems like the most responsible solution right now. I also think the grid is a good idea.

  3. So I’m not gonna lie… Even though I read about it, I did not understand the “flexible grid” until I just read your post. Don’t know what it was, but it just clicked! Thanks. 🙂 I think I even explained it in my post, but I supopse the word “grid” threw me off. I agree with what you had to say though – it definitely seems more efficient to create a site that can change instead of making multiple pages. It’s probably going to be hard to grasp onto, but because it’s such a great idea, I think it’ll catch on quick. (Hopefully!)

  4. I agree, my favorite part is the “Flexible Grid”. I think it is great the way people find solutions to these problems. It just is going to suck having to plan for every device lol. It will definitely be something worth playing with

  5. I agree, the flexible grid does seem to be the main idea around Responsive Web Design. With it we can give the user the best experience for the device they are using and we don’t need to worry about important content being cut off.

Leave a Reply

