Competitor Site Critiques

http://dallasanimalservices.org/
Pros:
Overall I would say that this is a nicely done website. I think they did a good job correctly labeling navigation. Each Link is what I expected when I clicked on it, and the information is organized in a logical way. I also like their “Find a Companion” search feature. They provide a number of filter options to help narrow your search, or allow you to browse all current pets. This is something I will be incorporating in my web site.
Cons:
Although I do not think that they did a bad job, I think the design in very simple and more could have been done with it. It is also limited mainly to adoption only with little other features.

http://www.petfinder.com/
Pros:
As far as features I think this site does a great job. They have a very efficient search engine that filters by animal type, breed, and distance. They also include a number of other features such as a blog, local events you can search by area, learning centers with training tips and tutorials, and a number of other features. I would like to add a blog section and the advanced search options throughout my site.
Cons:
My main complaint with this website is also design problems. The colors and backgrounds looks like it is geared towards women and it might limit their audience a little. And although I like a lot of their features they incorporate, and the site becomes kinda cluttered. Also it is fairly hard to find certain things in the navigation as there are way too many options.

http://www.spca.org/
Pros:
This site also does a good job at incorporating a number of different features. I think they do a really good job organizing their information and labeling their navigation menus correctly as well. They also did a good job on the overall design of the site.
Cons:
I also don’t like the fact that they have two separate navigation menus. I didn’t even notice the top one for a while. Also on some of the interior pages the home navigation goes away and you are only left with a home link.

http://dognkittycity.org/
Pros:
I really like the overall design of this site. Most of the sites I have seen so far are very basic and plain, and this one is a nice change. I also like the fact that they offer a variety of information about local events, training tips and a donation page to help the company for those that can’t adopt a pet but still want to help. They also show recently adopted and recently added pets. The local events and training tips are something I would like to bring to my site, as well as the recently added and adopted pets.
Cons:
Overall I really don’t have a lot of complaints about this site. I really don’t like the featured animals on the side bar, but that might just be a personal choice.

http://www.adoptapet.com/adoption_rescue/70141.html
Pros:
I like the fact they incorporate many elements in this site. There is a lot of very important information they give the user about adoption and maintaing an animal. The blog section is also a nice feature that I would like incorporate in my site.
Cons:
The thing I hate the most about this site is that the navigation options change on different sites, and it also moves to other locations on the page.  I also didn’t even recognize that it was a navigation bar for a while. Some of the pages on this site were too long and could have been organized better.

http://www.operationkindness.org/index.php
Pros:
This site does a good job branding themselves on the home page. Even tho I normally hate drop down menus I think they did a good job with their’s. The different colors for each menu item looks good and helps separate them. Their adoption page is very simple and easy to use as well. They also have a supported links page with a lot of important information.
Cons:
I do not like that there was no home link on the navigation menu. I understand that clicking the main image takes you home, but others might not make that connection. Their page is also not centered, something that bothers me very much.

http://www.citypetrescue.com/
Pros:
I really like the dog jigsaw puzzle they added in as a fun feature. I really like the Success Stories section of this site. This is an amazing feature I am going to add to my site. The success stories can be encouraging and help establish some reputation.
Cons:
I think that the adoption gallery is really plain, and the formatting is uneven and has alignment problems. You also can not click on an animal to get more information or start an adoption process. The design isn’t horrible but still a little basic.

http://www.humanesociety.org/
Pros:
This is my favorite of all the pet adoption sites that I found. The design is very appealing and clean, and the site is organized very well. I like the way their news section is layed out and organized. They also do a very good job with their company branding, by bringing their logo throughout the site. I also like the way they created an illusion of depth with their layout.
Cons:
I really don’t like the fact that the videos section is completely different from the rest of the site. Not only did the design change, but the entire layout was different including the navigation menu.

http://www.animalshelter.org/
Pros:
I like the featured pet feature on the right side on the screen that shows a picture with a brief description. This is something I am going to consider for my site.
Cons:
I don’t like the fact that the page expands with the window. To me this is kind of annoying. There is also way too much content on some of the pages and it gets very overwhelming.  The search a pet feature was very bugged and didn’t work at all sometimes.

Leave a Reply

